Super House, Lovely Setting

Beach villa with 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and shared pool in Almuñécar, Spain

From €641 per week

Modern, roomy house for 8, great views, excellent swimming pools. Charming town, beaches, restaurants 5 min


The Costa Tropical is an up-and-coming area that has long been known to Spanish holidaymakers and is now starting to attract more foreign visitors. The town of Almunecar maintains its authentically Spanish character while welcoming international holidaymakers, a key factor in our familys decision to invest here. We plan to spend as much time here as possible!

The Costa Tropical runs from Nerja to Motril and is characterised by rugged cliffs falling to the sea, a variety of beaches and a sub-tropical climate that supports avocados, mangoes and bananas.

A variety of holidays can be enjoyed at our house, including relaxing by the pool, visiting nearby beaches, water sports, horse riding, scuba diving, golf and walking in the countryside. Spains premiere ski resort is available in the winter and spring.

This may be the best climate in Europe. Compared to the rest of the Spanish south coast, the Costa Tropical is particularly mild in the winter and relatively cool and comfortable during the summer. There are more than 320 sunny days each year. Daytime highs range from 16 C in the winter to 29 in July and August, with lows of 8 in the winter and 20-22 in the summer.

The magnificent city of Granada with its spectacular Alhambra palace is only 60 minutes away by car, with high quality skiing in the nearby Sierra Nevada mountains from December to April. Skiing in the morning and the beach in the afternoon can be an option in the winter. Seville, another great destination, can be reached in 3 hours.

Gorgeous and peaceful setting
The house is in the community "Fuentes de Almunecar" (Fountains of Almunecar), perched strategically on a hilltop overlooking a spectacular coastline and backed by ranges of hills. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with trees, streams, fountains and waterfalls. Residents are Spanish, British and a sprinkling of other nationalities.

There are two communal pools, one an infinity pool, and wonderful views along the coast and out over the Mediterranean. Both pools are no more than a two minute walk from the apartment. While one of the two communal pools has a daytime lifeguard, neither of the pools is securely fenced and young children need to be supervised. The Infinity pool is open from 15th June to 15th September. The Panoramic pool is open all year weather permitting.

The centre of Almunecar has a classical Spanish atmosphere and has so far avoided being dominated by tourism. The Moorish and Phoenician architectural heritage shows up in the winding passages and cobbled squares of the old quarter as well as the prominent castle. The town also has several markets, some very good restaurants, a bird park, several beaches and a water park, all easily reachable from the house. Modern supermarkets, banks and other facilities are also available.

A car is needed to reach the property and to get around, particularly on warm summer days when the walk back from the nearest beaches or the centre of town can be a challenge. Driving in this part of Spain is not hard, the roads are in excellent condition and places are clearly signposted. In the house we provide a range of books, maps and suggestions for both driving and walking tours.

Almunecar can be reached easily by car from two airports: Malaga or Granada (each 60 mins). There is a wide choice of car hire options from these airports (we can provide suggestions if needed).

On arrival, our guests are provided with extensive information on local attractions and our favourite beaches, restaurants, shopping, night life, sports, sightseeing destinations, etc., many of which we have discovered by staying in the area for extended periods. Our local manager maintains the property and, if requested, can arrange activities and excursions.

The house
The 4-bedroom house (one double, three twins) is on the corner of a group of four units. It has two floors (see plan) and a large terrace with a dining table and chairs. The total indoor area is about 125 m2. There are two full bathrooms, one en suite with two showers, plus an extra WC. One bedroom has a private terrace. The interior is roomy and the ceilings high, contributing to a light and open house interior. Eight people are very comfortable here.

The main terrace is large and quiet, with an extraordinary 180 degree panorama view and opportunities to observe both sunrise and sunset. It is an ideal place to enjoy a relaxing meal or sunbathe. The terrace is equipped with a dining table, chairs and sun beds.

Air conditioning - now in all bedrooms - and central heating ensures that the house is comfortable year round.

Please do not bring your pets.


27 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money

24 out of 27 people recommend staying here


Family from Worthing, United Kingdom Aug 2017

We arrived early, but we could leave our cases in the house while we went to do some shopping. The inside of the house was ideal, but the outside terrace hadn't been cleaned. The parasol was damaged and the base was broken, so it was unsafe to use. As commented in a previous review there are 40 steps down to the front door, so wouldn't be suitable for young children or less mobile adults. The infinity pool is probably a good 5-10 minute walk away and doesn't open until 12pm and you do need to arrive at 12 otherwise you won't get a sunbed. We didn't visit the other pool which is a bit further and is up a hill, so you probably need to use the car. It would've been helpful if there was more information about the villa and surrounding area e.g. pool locations, as we had to find them ourselves. This house was ideal to use as a base for visiting Granada, which takes about an hour in the car. We were happy with interior of the house, which had a fully equipped kitchen and lovely bedrooms, although there was a problem with the master bedroom door, as if it was closed it would sometimes lock, so we had find something to open the lock from outside the room, this didn't affect our stay and we just left the door ajar. We would stay here again, but only for a short stay, as the outside terrace was a disappointment.

Reply from Michael

We'll start by saying that we just checked with our local manager who told us that your arrival day (mid August) was incredibly busy and the terrace may indeed not have been cleaned thoroughly, which is inexcusable. We would have taken care of this (as well as the door lock) immediately had you informed us, but unfortunately you didn't - I don't know why as you had our emails and phone numbers. We found out the parasol was broken just before you arrived and we certainly should have removed and then replaced this.

It's a real pity this happened as the outside terrace is, in our view and that of most guests, one of the absolute highlights of the property with its glorious views, and we spend many hours out there. We're very unhappy that you seem to have had a disappointing experience and we will renew our efforts to make sure nothing like this happens again.

The time required to get to the pools and the number of steps around the property are clearly described on our web site (there are no more than 20 steps to the front door and the Infinity Pool is less than 250 meters from the house). We've never previously had guests unable to find the Upper Pool and no one else has ever suggested driving there, least of all my 85-year old parents. Certainly our property might not suit less mobile adults, which we do clearly explain on our web site.

You are very welcome to return and try again.


Friends from Monnickendam, Netherlands Sep 2016

Prachtige omgeving, mooi huis met alles erop en eraan. Zeer goede bedden en uitstekend ingerichte keuken. Het enige probleem zat het in het feit dat je alles met de auto moet doen. Er is in de buurt helemaal niets, geen winkel o.i.d. Je bent dus verplicht om alles met de auto te doen.

Reply from Michael

Here is this review in English via Google Translate: "Beautiful setting, beautiful house with all the trimmings. Very good beds and well equipped kitchen. The only problem was in the fact that you do with the car to do. There is nothing around, no shopping or the like You are therefore obliged to do everything by car."

We do recommend on our web site that guests hire a car, as we always do when we are at the property. However, we also go for long walks in the hills behind the house, enjoying fabulous views of the coast and mountains while exploring the countryside. We also walk to and from the nearest beach although the path is steep and not to everyone's taste. There are several other beaches within 5-10 minutes drive, plus supermarkets and restaurants only 10 minutes away by car, or reasonably-priced and always-available taxi if you prefer. Finally, our community has two excellent swimming pools within a short walk from the property.


Large Group from Fredericia, Denmark Jul 2016

We had a really greate stay in the house with a very lovely view.
The house is very well equipped with comfortable garden furniture, furniture in the house and very good beds. The kitchen is also so equipped that we could make food in the house with food from the local market.
Everything in the house functioned perfectly.
We were 3 generations (8 grown up) and the house was a good base for the stay in the nice and quiet urbanization.
We will love to come back.

Reply from Michael

We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. Welcome back!


Family from Liverpool, United Kingdom May 2016

The house is clean and the views are amazing. The area was quiet and locals friendly. The local representative was very quick and helpful when we had a query. We would go again.

Reply from Michael

Wonderful that you had such a great time!


Family from Skive, Denmark Aug 2015

Very nice house, in lovely settings, with sight over the Mediterranean
Room for us - four couples and tree small children. And two pools in five minutes walking distance. But high up on very steep hill, so you need a car to get there and for shopping. And you need a good condition to walk in the area.
No shops in the neighbourhood.
Many nice places to go within 30 km.
Internet in the house was extremely slow - temporary problem?
An if you arrive at Sunday, notice that almost everything is closed in Spain.

Reply from Michael

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, shops are closed on Sundays in Spain and so we offer a 'welcoming pack' of food and drink items (either you select or we do) to be placed in the property for your arrival. The wifi speed issue has now been looked into and, as far as we know, fixed. The wifi is not suitable for streaming multiple videos, but does support normal private and business use, and I depend on this myself when I am in Spain.

Maria Paz

Friends from Ski, Norway Jul 2015

The house is ok, and well equipped (no microwave), but there are many stairs (40 steps up and 40 down) to get to the main door. The bedroom in the upper floor is useless, too hot for summer as there is no air condition, just a ceiling fan that does not help in the summer season. Two things we did not like: 1) wifi is not included in the price and this is not mentioned in the description. 2) the air condition system can only be used while you are in the house. The system is operated by a key that is attached to the main door key. This means that you have to shut the aircon down before you leave the house, and come back to a sauna. At the time you get to sleep, the temperature in the house is still to high.

Reply from Michael

We appreciate feedback, even when it is not positive. To respond to the specific points raised: (i) Our fast and reliable wifi service is provided by an external service and costs about €20 per week, so we don't think this is expensive or unreasonable (and is now explicitly stated on our web site). We do not make any money from providing this service and in fact we have not raised our property rental prices for 4 years; (ii) We deliberately set up the air conditioning so it does not operate when the house is empty as we found a few guests were leaving it running all day long while they were at the beach. We find the AC very effective and even on hot days it can cool the house down in less than an hour. It would seem wasteful to us to have the AC running when the house is empty and we certainly don't do that ourselves when we are staying at the house in the summer. Finally, yes there are steps to get to and from the house, as described on our web site, but "40 up and down" is a considerable exaggeration.........UPDATE: starting the summer of 2017 there is now air conditioning in all bedrooms and there is a microwave in the kitchen.


Distances to locations

Nearest beach 2km Nearest bar 1km Nearest restaurant 2km Nearest ski lift 60km Nearest supermarket 2km Malaga or Granada airport 60km the city of Granada and Alhambra Palace 60km Sierra Nevada Mountains and ski resort 60km choice of beaches, water sports, riding 5km Almunecar Old Town, restaurants, shops 5km

Local activities

Boat hire 2km Cycling 2km Golf 10km Horse riding 5km Sailling 2km Scuba diving 2km Skiing 60km Swimming 1km Tennis 2km Wind surfing 2km

Sights and attractions

Historic site 5km Local food market 5km Museum 5km Night club 5km Shopping 5km Theatre 5km Zoo 5km Cinema 5km

Show more Show less

Prices and availability

Updated 4 June 2020

  • Unavailable
  • Your booking
  • Available start/end date

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 3 March - 15 June 2021: the minimum stay is 5 nights.
  • 16 June - 1 September 2021: the minimum stay is 7 nights.
  • 2 September 2021 - 29 March 2022: the minimum stay is 5 nights.

Early booking discounts

  • Receive 5% off if the booking is made 9 months before the arrival date.

Late booking discounts

  • Receive 15% off if the booking is made within 1 week of the arrival date.
  • Receive 10% off if the booking is made within 2 weeks of the arrival date.
  • Receive 5% off if the booking is made within 3 weeks of the arrival date.

Long stay discounts

  • Receive 20% off if the booking is for 8 weeks or more.
  • Receive 15% off if the booking is for 5 weeks or more.
  • Receive 10% off if the booking is for 3 weeks or more.

If more than one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.

Optional extras

  • Cot for a young child

    €18.00 per week, paid with booking

  • On request only: a Welcoming Pack of essential food and drink supplies. This will include bread, eggs, milk, butter, wine, beer, juice, fruit, etc. (you may specify or leave it to us). Particularly recommended for late or Sunday arrivals when local shops are likely to be closed

    €40.00 per booking, paid with booking



4 bedrooms, Sleeps 8:

  • 1 double bed and en suite
  • 2 single beds
  • 2 single beds
  • 2 single beds


3 bathrooms including 1 en suite, 3 Separate WC's

Swimming pool

Shared pool


CD player, DVD/Blu-ray player, WiFi / WiFi, TV Languages in English, Spanish, Local, Satellite / cable


Living area seats 6, Dining area seats 8, Air conditioning, Hair dryer, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire recommended


Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Dishwasher, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Microwave, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster


Balcony or terrace, Barbecue, Garage, Outside lighting, Parking, Sea view

Suitable for


Extra information

For larger groups, reservations may also be made at our 2-bedroom apartment, within a two minute walk. There are fabulous views from the house as well as the apartment.


Average rating from 50 reviews

Private Owner From Gullaug, Norway Member since Feb 2006

We love Almunecar and the Costa Tropical and have been coming here for several years. We usually visit as a winter break from our home in Norway although this is a great year-round destination and we have even enjoyed some mild and sunny Christmas weather here. When we first started coming our children were young teenagers, now they are young adults and they still enjoy the area and want to keep coming back with their friends.

Past bookings: 206 bookings

Response rate: 67%

Response time: within 3 hours

Last logged in: a month ago

Number of properties: 3

We love Almunecar and the Costa Tropical and have been coming here for several years. We usually visit as a winter break from our home in Norway although this is a great year-round destination and we have even enjoyed some mild and sunny Christmas weather here. When we first started coming our children were young teenagers, now they are young adults and they still enjoy the area and want to keep coming back with their friends.