Contact Owner

The Villa In A Village Location

Villa with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and private pool in Rethymnon region, Crete

From £307 per week

Contact Owner

Luxury detached villa, sleeps 2-8. Private pool,tranquil, sea/mountain views. Village location, near to beach resort of Platanias, Rethymno.


Is an Exclusive, new, spacious, detached villa with stunning Panoramic sea and mountain views. Furnished with locally hand crafted tasteful, modern furniture. It sleeps 2-7 comfortably ( adults and children ) plus a travel cot can be made available if required. The villa has its own private swimming pool - 4 x 7 metres. - there is a wall surrounding the plot keeping most of the garden private from neighbours but still allowing the fabulous view. Perfect for barbeques. There are sun-loungers available, pool toys and inflateables, a play area with various toys. Inside there is a selection of DVDs and videos, board games and guide books for the guest to use . A car is essential as the climb up the hill to the villa is steep but well worth it when you see the views.

The Location
The villa is ideally located to the centre and north of this charming island and very close to one of the longest beaches in the med - where turtles are known to nest - just west of Rethymno. An historical harbour town 10 minutes from the villa, which is the smallest and arguably the prettiest of the three main Cretan towns, with its palm lined prominade. It is a haven that attracts locals and visitors alike to its waterside tavernas. The old town is marked by the ancient fortress, old harbour, winding paved streets, fish restaurants, cafes and bars with plenty of nightlife, it provides all the modern and cultural amenities youll need. Join in the cellebrations at the Rethymno wine festival in late July and witness spectacular Greek dancing and free flowing wine.

The unique location of the villa allows the guest to visit places such as the world famous and much visited Minoan ancient Palace of Knossos, the Monastary of Arkadi, and the Samaria Gorge - europes largest ravine. With normal everyday sights such as the traditional working villages of Spilli and beautiful resorts that have so much to offer all ages and tastes alike, such as Bali, Georgiopoulis, Agia Galini, Malia and of course the nearby Platanias. Platanias, only 5 minutes away is a pretty resort and perfect for families with its gently shelving sand and also ideal for watersport enthusiasts or sunworshipers!

Around the island there are waterparks for children or the child in us. There are boat trips to other parts of the island - and other islands! Santorini Island for example is easily accessable for a day trip. Or you could simply laze by the pool at the villa soaking up the fantastic scenery right on your doorstep as you totally relax and recharge your batteries.

We fell in love...
... with this beautiful, sunny, magical diverse Greek Island of Crete as soon as we visited it many years ago. Then many years later we found our ideal plot of land to have this brand new stunning villa built. With a fabulous location like this you cant go wrong, panoramic views of the sea ( to the left), of the mountains ( to the right) and the village straight ahead across the valley, set in an area surrounded by orange, lemon, lime and almond trees set amongst olive groves.

As a visitor you are genuinely welcome, so take up the invitation to join the locals for a glass of raki and share in the spirit of Crete.


6 verified reviews

Advert accuracy
Check in and Out
Value for money

6 out of 6 people recommend staying here


Friends from Peterborough, United Kingdom Sep 2013

Really lovely Villa, great location - approximately 3 or 4 miles out of the closest town, walked it one day but it took it out of us (3 lads 25-35 age range) however the good news is a taxi only costs between 8 and 10 euros and they will pick you up from the Villa which is great.

Facilities at the Villa are perfect, everything you could need and more. Owner contact was no issue and instructions for check in and checkout were very clear and we had no issues at either end or throughout the holiday.

Would recommend the Villa to anyone and will be returning should i visit Crete again. Only note i would say is the 3rd bedroom is bunk beds which i didnt pick up from the advert so we had to draw straws to see who ended up in that room! Fortunately it was not me -)


From Bearsden, United Kingdom Jun 2012

This is an excellent villa in a brilliant location. It certainly met our expectations, the description on the web pages is very good and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Agnes, the local caretaker, is excellent and very helpful with recommendations about local facilities. This house is not suitable, if you want to go out at night and not have to drive home later, it is a bit off the beaten track. The last 100- 200 meters of the hill up to the house are very steep, and you should try to get there in daylight for the first time, but it is definitely managable. Even though the house if off the beaten track, it is still only 10 km or so to Rethimno, and even less to the tavernas and shops in Platanias. There is a Lidl in Platanias, but one of the supermarkets on the main road has much nicer local fruit and veg. As far as we could find, there is no taverna within walking distance (and I wouldnt want to climb up that hill after a couple of glasses of wine). The pool is great, all facilities in the house are as advertised, and there is a big BBQ. There are lots of DVDs, and the DVD player plays UK disks. We couldnt get the TV reception to work properly, just some ghosts in snow storm, but that might be because of the location of the house, or our inability to use the telly.

The location of the house is very good for exploring the Western part of Crete, we drove as far as Elafonisi beach in the far West, but that is then a long slog back. Hiraklion is just over an hours drive away, so within fairly easy visiting distance. Chania is less than an hour (and in my opinion a lot more interesting).

Overall, excellent!


Helen from Stockport

The villa is very well appointed with lots to entertain the children, pool bigger than we expected. BBQ well used views fantastic well worth negotiating the hill for! A wonderful holiday had by all.


cher from Harrogate

there should be a mention of the incredibly steep and windy drive up to the villa, very high up, some drivers could be nervous. the view is tremendous though. Not as private as we thought , overlooked either side at some point so if the other villas are occupied and you want to sit outside in privacy, be aware of the fellow holidaymakers probably wanting to do the same. The location was good for visiting the area, great beaches, lots of restaurants, the prettiest town was Chania, the old harbour is lovely. The air conditioning was a must but you are charged extra for this which should definitely be mentioned in the description of the villa. The Cretans are lovely friendly people although sometimes a little too pushy to get you to eat in their particular restaurant. A car is a definite MUST, impossible to get about without one.

Reply from Loretta

The villa specifications now mentions the steep hill leading up to the villa. In the 2 years we have rented the villa there has never been any complaints regarding this issue, the comment is usually WOW when they see the views. There is a wall surrounding the villa grounds which isn't too high as we did not want to compromise the fantastic views. However there are many areas in the garden, patio, balcony and elevated back garden that offers absolute privacy. If dining outside it is perfectly secluded and if guests from the villas either side catch a glimpse of you they would have had to climb the wall or break their neck to do so. When anyone books our villa, we automatically send out a list of optional extras, the airconditioning is paid for locally and is clearly stated in this information. The villa is excellent value for money even when paying for the airconditioning seperately. The guest leaving this review stayed at the villa at the end of June 2007 when Greece experienced the worst heatwaves in over 100 years and at night the temperature did not fall below 100 degrees F, frankly I am not surprised they needed the airconditioning, however they are the first guests to have asked for it in 2 years including guests staying in July/August when it is at it's warmest as the ceiling fans are very effective and all that is usually needed.


peter from Swansea

as we rented the property over christmas it was cold in the villa due to there not being sufficient heating other than that the location and villa were excellent

Reply from Loretta

I did explain at length to these guests before they booked that there was no central heating and all we have for cold periods is warm air heaters in the bedrooms and a calor gas heater for the downstairs area. I have now decided not to rent out during the winter months for the time being.


Johan from Netherlands

We had a wonderfull holiday with 4 adults and 2 young children! Make sure you hire a car because you definitely need it! Have a good holiday!!!


Distances to locations

Nearest beach 4km Nearest bar 1km Nearest restaurant 1km Nearest supermarket 3km Heraklion airport 80km Chania Airport 85km Platanias beach resort 4.5km Rethymno 10km Arkadi Monastary 15km Samaria Gorge 40km

Local activities

Boat hire 10km Climbing 45km Cycling 15km Fishing 15km Horse riding 15km Mountain biking 5km Sailling 5km Scuba diving 20km Tennis 4km Water skiing 15km Wind surfing 5km

Sights and attractions

Historic site 15km Local food market 3km Museum 45km Night club 5km Shopping 15km Theatre 15km Cinema 15km

Show more Show less

Prices and availability

Updated 17 June 2022

  • Unavailable
  • Your booking
  • Available start/end date

Select your travel dates on the calendar

Changeover days and minimum stays

  • 1 May - 31 October 2024: the minimum stay is 4 nights.
  • 1 May - 31 October 2025: the minimum stay is 4 nights.

Early booking discounts

  • Arrive between 1 April - 30 September and receive 5% off if the booking is made 1 month before the arrival date.

If more than one discount matches your arrival date, please be aware that only one discount of the highest amount will be applied to your booking.

Optional extras

  • Bedroom air conditioning, price per unit. Must be paid for locally prior to using. 35 euros per unit per week

    £7 per unit per day, paid locally



3 bedrooms, Sleeps 7:

  • 1 double bed
  • 2 single beds
  • 2 single beds

There is also 2 single sofa beds in Lounge, 1 cot


2 bathrooms, 2 Separate WC's

Swimming pool

Private pool


CD player, DVD/Blu-ray player, Radio, TV Languages in Local


Living area seats 8, Dining area seats 8, Air conditioning, Hair dryer, Iron / board, Towels / linen, Washing machine, Car hire essential


Cooker, Crockery, Cutlery, Fridge, Freezer, Glassware, Kettle, Microwave, Oven, Pots / pans, Toaster


Balcony or terrace, Barbecue, Outside lighting, Parking, Private garden, Sea view

Suitable for


Extra information

There is a very comfortable sofa-bed in the large spacious lounge. Picnic sets are available if you plan days out and want to take your lunch with you. Ceiling fans are in each of the bedrooms as well as 2 in the lounge, which are efficient at keeping the rooms cool, however air conditioning is provided in all the bedrooms if you wish at a charge and is payable locally. The villa provides the guest with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing chilled out holiday.If you wish to use the cot you will need to supply your own linen for this. You will need to supply your own pool/beach towels as these are not included in the cost of renting the villa.


Average rating from 6 reviews

Private Owner From Denham, United Kingdom Member since Mar 2006

This is our own holiday home from home, with all home comforts. It is not a business venture, apart from our home in the UK this is our only other property.

Past bookings: 27 bookings

Last logged in: 7 months ago

Number of properties: 1

This is our own holiday home from home, with all home comforts. It is not a business venture, apart from our home in the UK this is our only other property.